Skip to main content
English6 min read

Zenka Loan Review Kenya 2026: Rates, Limits, Penalties

Zenka loan review 2026: its Play listing and FAQ disagree on amount, term and price. We show both, plus the 1.5% daily penalty and what grows your limit.

Key Takeaway

Zenka's Play listing says KSh 500 to 200,000 for up to 91 days at 2.45% to 39% of the principal; its FAQ says KSh 30,000, 61 days and 5% commission. Here are both, the penalty and the licence question.

Zenka is an app lender licensed by the Central Bank of Kenya as Zenka Digital Limited, a digital credit provider (licensed 27 March 2023). Its Google Play listing (updated 31 August 2026) offers KSh 500 to 200,000 for up to 91 days at an interest fee of 2.45% to 39% of the principal, while its website FAQ says KSh 500 to 30,000 over 61 days with commission from 5%. The FAQ sets a late penalty of 1.5% of the principal per day.

By PesaMarket ยท Last updated 27 September 2026

P

PesaMarket

Financial Analysis

Updated 27 September 2026. Every figure below links to Zenka's Google Play listing, Zenka's FAQ or the Central Bank of Kenya directory.

How much does a Zenka loan cost? It depends which Zenka page you read. The Google Play listing (updated 31 August 2026) says loans of KSh 500 to KSh 200,000 for up to 91 days, with an interest fee of 2.45% to 39% of the principal and no processing fee (Google Play). Zenka's own FAQ says KSh 500 to KSh 30,000, a 61-day term in two instalments and commission "starting from 5%" (Zenka FAQ, read 27 September 2026).

We show both in this Zenka loan review and don't pick one. Our old review said "up to KSh 100,000 over 6 months at 14% to 29% plus a 2% to 5% processing fee". Zenka publishes none of that, so it's gone.

Who lends: Zenka's licence

The CBK-licensed company is Zenka Digital Limited, a digital credit provider licensed on 27 March 2023 (CBK Directory of Digital Credit Providers, updated 9 July 2026). The Play listing's developer is also Zenka Digital Limited, at Mirage Tower 2, Nairobi.

But the same listing says "the lender and the data controller of your data is Zenka Finance Limited". Zenka Finance Limited isn't the name in the CBK directory. That's an inconsistency on Zenka's side. Before you accept a loan, check which company your agreement names.

Zenka loan rates and fees: Play listing vs FAQ

ItemGoogle Play (31 Aug 2026)Zenka FAQ (read 27 Sep 2026)
AmountKSh 500 to 200,000KSh 500 to 30,000
Term"Up to 91 days"61 days, payable in 2 instalments
PriceInterest fee of 2.45% to 39% of the principalCommission "starting from 5% for each loan"
APR30% to 4432%Not stated
Processing feeKSh 0Not stated
Late penaltyNot stated1.5% of outstanding principal per day of delay
ExtensionsPostpone the due date by 7, 14 or 30 days; price not publishedSame; "no limits to the number of times you can extend"

Zenka's example on Play: a 61-day loan of KSh 1,000 carries an interest fee of KSh 390 (39%), so you repay KSh 1,390. At the bottom of the range, 2.45%, the same loan would cost about KSh 25 (our arithmetic). The spread is huge, so the fee on your offer screen is what matters.

The late penalty is the number to watch. At 1.5% of the principal per day, a KSh 10,000 loan paid 10 days late adds KSh 1,500. The FAQ says there are no automatic rollover fees. You can extend instead, but Zenka doesn't publish what an extension costs.

Zenka also lets you top up an active loan up to your current limit. The FAQ says the commission on the extra amount is the same as the fee on your active loan.

How to increase your Zenka limit

Zenka publishes more on this than most lenders, and it's all one message. The Play listing says: "Grow with Zenka and build your limit up to KSh 200,000 by making your loan repayments on time", and "Timely repayment increases your credit limit and allows you to apply for higher amounts in the future." The FAQ adds: "The fastest way to receive higher amounts is to build credit with a positive repayment history."

So, in practice:

  • Repay on time, every loan. It's the only route Zenka names.
  • Be careful with extensions. They're allowed without limit, but Zenka doesn't say whether extending counts against your record, and it doesn't publish the price.
  • Keep your CRB record clean. Zenka's FAQ says it checks and reports to Metropol, TransUnion and Creditinfo.

The old version of this page listed a "Zenka Reward Points" system, a "KSh 1,000 to 3,000 first loan" and a 12-month growth table. We couldn't find any of it on Zenka's listing or FAQ, and we've taken it out.

Applying for a Zenka loan

On Play, Zenka describes four steps: download the app, fill in a short form with the amount you need, wait for the evaluation, and receive the money in M-PESA. It says it will ask to scan your M-PESA SMS "and other information" to check your identity and creditworthiness. There's no minimum payment period, so you can pay towards the principal at any time after disbursement.

Zenka vs other loan apps

On paper Zenka's range is the widest of any app we compared: an APR of 30% at the bottom and 4432% at the top. Tala publishes 109.5% to 219% and Branch 20% to 211% plus a 6% fee. Where your offer lands in that range decides whether Zenka is cheap or very expensive.

See the full sourced table in best loan apps in Kenya 2026, the three-way Tala vs Branch vs Zenka, and our Tala review and Branch review.

Is Zenka worth it?

Honestly, it's hard to judge a lender whose two main pages disagree on the amount, the term and the price. If you use Zenka, screenshot the offer screen before you accept, and repay by the due date: 1.5% a day in penalties is steep.

Worried about a past default? Read what CRB is and how listing works first. And if an app asks for a fee before paying out a "Zenka" loan, it isn't Zenka; see our list of reported scam loan apps.

Comparing lenders for today? Try Money Now.

Sources

All accessed 27 September 2026.

  1. Zenka, Google Play listing, updated 31 August 2026: amount, term, interest fee, APR, processing fee, example, extensions, limit growth, lender name.
  2. Zenka FAQ: amount, 61-day term, commission, top-ups, 1.5% daily penalty, extensions, limit growth, CRB checks and reporting.
  3. Central Bank of Kenya, Directory of Digital Credit Providers, updated 9 July 2026: Zenka Digital Limited, licensed 27 March 2023.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does a Zenka loan cost?
Zenka's Google Play listing (31 August 2026) gives an interest fee of 2.45% to 39% of the principal, an APR of 30% to 4432% and no processing fee. Its FAQ says commission starts from 5% per loan. Zenka's example: KSh 1,000 for 61 days costs KSh 390.
What is the maximum Zenka loan?
The two Zenka sources disagree. The Play listing says up to KSh 200,000; the FAQ says KSh 500 to KSh 30,000 (both read 27 September 2026). The amount on your offer screen is what applies.
What is Zenka's late payment penalty?
1.5% of the outstanding principal for each day of delay, according to the Zenka FAQ. There are no automatic rollover fees, but you can pay to extend the due date by 7, 14 or 30 days; the extension price is not published.
How do I increase my Zenka limit?
Repay on time. Zenka's Play listing says timely repayment increases your credit limit, up to KSh 200,000, and the FAQ says a positive repayment history is the fastest way to higher amounts. Zenka also checks and reports to Metropol, TransUnion and Creditinfo.
Is Zenka licensed by CBK?
Zenka Digital Limited is a digital credit provider licensed by CBK on 27 March 2023 (directory updated 9 July 2026). Its Play listing, however, names Zenka Finance Limited as the lender, which is not the name in the directory.
Share:

Related Articles

Need help? Chat with us